The Indian Super League, officially known as the Hero Indian Super League for sponsorship reasons, is a professional football league in India. The Indian Super League was founded in 2013 in an effort to make football a top sport in India and to make Indian football a major player worldwide. Unlike the majority of football leagues around the world, the ISL does not use the promotion and relegationsystem. Instead, it uses a franchise system in which eight teams were created to participate in the league.